dan likes pie

Really Big Apple Pie

Posted in Uncategorized by Dan Goshorn on March 31, 2010

My roommate Devin requested an apple pie for his going-away dinner (which he’s had about 10 of in the past week).  I’ve tried several different styles of apple pie, but I’ve generally settled on lattice/crumb top pie as my go to.

General technique:

Crust – Standard crust with lattice top. Top with a mash of flour and butter.

Apples – I generally prefer honeycrisp apples, sliced flat (not wedge).

Filling – There are countless methods for prepping apple pie filling. Apples collapse while cooking and various oven temperatures/cooking times affect the finished pie. I do all my baking in an unpredictable rental apartment stove, so I find using a filling of sliced apples, applesauce and some spice is more forgiving and you get a consistent quality pie.

The first pie I ever made was an apple pie. Devin, Sebastian and I ate the whole thing in one sitting. It was unholy and delicious. This pie wasn’t quite as good, I sorta over did it shoving apples into this thing, and it all came out looking pretty ugly. But there was nothing wrong with it that a scoop of ice cream couldn’t cure.

Cons-It was ugly

Pros-It was delicious

(in this picture you can see devin’s blood pressure meds next to the pie, awesome )

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

